The summer house rebuilt from the Gothic fort in the 16th century was a place of amusement, celebrations and leisure.
The unusual red colour distinguishes this picturesque “weekend” manor from other similar Renaissance chateaux in Bohemia. The glamorous outline of the chateau on the island which is mirrored in the water level is most impressive from boating around the chateau’s pond. The fairytale atmosphere of the place is often used by film crews.
The existence of an original fortress on the site of today's chateau is assumed from sometime around the middle of the 14th century. It was built on a rocky granite outcrop, which, after the damming of a stream and the filling up of a fishpond, became an island. The first written source is an entry into the land records from 1465.
A stone bridge, built in 1622, links the château with the banks of the pond, replacing the original drawbridge. The interiors have an extensive collection of historic furniture, tiled stoves, pictures, porcelain and other items. The southern edge of the fishpond is covered in thick forest, which forms a backdrop to the château. On the northern side is a landscaped park where the Renaissance Chapel of the Holy Trinity is situated. A marked circular path trenches around the fishpond. Rowing across the fishpond is a pleasant diversion on a hot summer day, and boats can be hired near the château.
The exhibition represents the authentic living quarters of the last owners, the princes of Schönburg-Hartenstein in its appearance in 1910, when the last reconstruction of the castle was completed.
The rooms are furnished with almost exclusively authentic furnishings, among which are several works of art which surpass the average standard of castle furnishings.